, , , , ,

heart-chakra-colorsThe focus of many of my blog posts this month centers on the topic of Love and the heart because February is American Heart Month and also this month we celebrate an important love holiday – Valentine’s Day.

That being said, I want to talk about the heart chakra and what it is, what it means and how it impacts your health. Just like any body part, chakras can get out of alignment and need some TLC from time to time.

The heart chakra is the 4th chakra that is located in the very center of the entire chakra system and is associated with feelings of vivid love, emotions and our deepest yearnings. The primary color designated to the heart chakra is green representing harmony, creativity, health, abundance and nature. Pink is also associated with the heart and is the color of universal love. The heart chakra is also referred to as Anahata – the energy center where love, joy, happiness and compassion radiates.

Anahata is the fourth primary chakra according to the Hindu Yogic, Shakta and Buddhist Tantric traditions. In Sanskrit the word anahata means unhurt, unstruck and unbeaten. Anahata Nad refers to the Vedic concept of unstruck sound, the sound of the celestial realm.

When your heart chakra / Ahahata is out of balance

Chakras, like any body part,  get out of alignment and the heart can experience hurt, grief, sadness and depression from any kind of loss such as a divorce, the end of a relationship, death of a loved one or pet, illness, loss of a job or moving. These are some of the main factors that are high on the list that cause distress to the heart causing you to feel physically unwell. These kinds of stresses can cause the heart chakra to go out of balance. Physical symptoms of an imbalanced heart chakra may cause you to experience heart palpitations, chest pain, circulation issues, high or low blood pressure. In severe cases, a heart attack can occur.

Balancing the Heart Chakra / Ahahata

These are a few of the ways that you can begin to heal or balance the heart chakra:

Affirmations for the heart chakra: I love and approve of myself. I accept myself for who I am. I give and receive love from others unconditionally. Love is the answer. I forgive. 

Essential Oils for the heart chakra: Rose, Ylang-Ylang

Crystal Therapy: Rose Quartz, Green Adventurine, Jade, Emerald, Malachite

Color Therapy to balance the heart chakra: Green is the primary color associated with the heart chakra. Visualize the color green in the center of your heart can help to balance the heart.  The Anahata or Heart Chakra meditation and balancing video I have added represents this visualization quite well.

You can give without loving, but you can never love without giving

~ Robert Louis Stevenson

Disclaimer: These are simply alternative therapy suggestions. If you are having serious heart issues or problems, please see your physician.