“The part can never be well unless the whole is well” – Plato

If you have never ever had a reflexology treatment, or it’s been a long time since you had one and you are looking for a good reflexologist in Santa Clara County, then I highly recommend Susan Mix.  I met with Susan just yesterday and had a reflexology session with her.  First of all, I am a reflexologist myself, but haven’t practiced for several years now.  It was so good to have a treatment with her and I was counting the minutes down to the hour of my appointment.  “I’m healthy as a horse” I told her as she began the treatment because I knew she was going to ask me what was going on with my body.  She just smiled that knowing smile of hers.  However, as she worked on my feet, I must fess up and say that she was really working those points on my feet that were out of balance in my body.  Being in the throes of starting up my new business, I am a “little” stressed out these days and my allergies have been bothering me as well.  Of course, I have the tenancy to ignore my own body, because I think I’m invincible.    But I am here to tell you that as Susan was working her magic on my feet, she knew what was going on with my body and would calmly ask me “are you experiencing an imbalance in that area?” [to which I had to say “yes”]. Reflexologists know these things, because they are trained to know the points on your feet that correspond to all parts of your body and learn to feel for those imbalances as they work the points that need to be addressed.

For those of you who may not know, reflexology is a method for activating the healing powers of the body.  It is a hands-on healing modality that is both old and new.  The roots of reflexology date back to ancient Chinese and Egyptian healers who worked on the feet to promote good health.  Today, thankfully, this age-old tradition continues and has developed into more modern and scientific methods.  It is still called reflexology, but what joins this ancient practice with a modern approach is the long-established principle that there are energy zones that run throughout the body and reflex areas or points in the feet that correspond to all major organs, glands and body parts.

Who is Susan?

Susan is a former Silicon Valley corporate Vice President who went from a stressful and demanding life of the corporate executive right into the world of holistic healing after getting laid off in 2008.   About six months after getting laid off, she still had not quite let go of corporate life, and as she put it, “was still dabbling.” She finally broke free completely!  She dusted herself off and went back to school to become certified in reflexology by attending the International Institute of Reflexology.  Why would she choose reflexology after a corporate career as a Vice-President?  Because Susan comes from a family of not just one, but a family of four reflexologists.  I would say that this incredible healing art is in her genes.

I asked Susan what the most unique and profound thing she has learned from her work as a reflexologist. She responded by saying that for her, “it was a revelation to discover how much I am able to move and balance the energy of my clients and how powerful reflexology really is.  It was a bonus I did not expect.”

I also asked Susan what she has learned about herself in her new role as a healer.  She told me “that I have learned to listen better and to look to see if people are smiling when I meet them. If not, then I want to be able to help put and keep a smile on their face.” Susan measures her success by the number of people she is able to help with the healing powers of Reflexology.

Add Reflexology to your tool box

Reflexology is a healing modality that should be included in your tool box.  If any part of you is suffering, then all of you suffers.  When you get a headache and it persists, pretty soon other parts of your body are suffering too.  Reflexology can be compared to a faithful source of strength and should not be treated like a bottle of aspirin waiting for you to take it when the pain comes along.  So don’t wait until your symptoms are so bad, you are forced to take medication or have to see a Doctor. Go get a reflexology treatment right away because it is, quite simply and powerfully, a holistic healing tool that can keep you well-balanced and at the peak of your energies and creativity.

Where you can find Susan:

Susan works out of two offices in Silicon Valley, the Restoring Health and Wellness Center in Santa Clara, and The Eternal Health and Wellness Acupuncture Center in San Jose.  Susan is also sponsoring an upcoming reflexology event on May 13th. For more information about Susan and her work, go to her website for all the scoop.

Your AromaZoneCoach

Kathleen

